Skip to content

5 Things I Hate About Trains Trips

July 2, 2011

Having to catch a train to work at least 5 days a week means that I spend on average 10 hours travelling back and forth. On these trips many things annoy me, but some more than others. I have compiled the five most aggravating things that drive me up the wall.

5 – People boarding peak-hour trains with bulky stuff

Boarding full Train with lots of crap

4 – Seat Hogs

Seat Hog

3 – Mothers who let their children run-wild on the carriage

Disobedient Children

2 – People listening to music at 120 dbs

Loud Music

1 – Pole Hogs – These people really aggravate me, unlike the seat hogs who may prevent a person or two having a seat, the pole-hogs leave a dozen+ people at the mercy of the train brakes

Pole Hog

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kat permalink
    July 2, 2011 11:33 pm

    I agree!

  2. July 3, 2011 11:07 pm

    When I use to have to catch the train, the things that bothered me the most were:

    1. In summer, the train is unbearably hot and in winter, unbearably cold. Absolutely no temperature management whatsoever. Plus the trains are generally in disgusting conditions, but yet they increase the costs of weekly tickets? Pfft.

    2. Lack of manners. Old & pregnant people are forced to stand, heck, I’ve even seen a guy with crutches not being offered a seat. Not to mention people not getting out of your way when you’re getting off or people crowding in front of the train doors as you’re trying to get off the train. Also, people not covering their face when they sneeze or whatever. It’s disgusting.

    3. Being treated like a thug. Having people check your tickets on the train, on the platform and as you’re exiting the station angers me to no end. I once walked through an open ticket gate and got chased after by a rail guard screaming his head off at me (I didn’t hear him due to my headphones). He demanded to see my ticket and while I was trying to find it in my wallet started writing up a ticket. I laughed and when he looked at me scornfully, I pulled out my weekly ticket. He walked off and didn’t say anything. Didn’t even apologize for the manner he treated me, was too disappointed that he missed out on a ticket I guess.

  3. July 4, 2011 9:04 am

    Hello Alen
    Great addition to my list. I thought of adding more but I didn’t feel like drawing more pics lol.
    Definitely the cold/hot trains is one thing that really bugs me. Last year we sent cityrail a couple of nicely worded complaint letters, so perhaps that had something to do with the major improvement in airconditioned trains this year. I had an image in my head of a woman giving birth on the carriage floor and people sitting around her looking down with indifference.

  4. Alen permalink
    July 4, 2011 6:19 pm

    Yeah, tell me about it. I absolutely dreaded travelling to the city in summer. It was agonizing. I was drenched in sweat before I even arrived in the city. I sweat badly enough as it is without putting me in a carriage that is 10 degrees hotter than it is outside.

    I agree as well that everyone is off in their own world. I’ve got mountains of stories about people without concern for others about them, especially if they inconvenience them.

Leave a comment