Skip to content

First Oil Painting – Reflection

May 21, 2012

I finished my first oil painting over the weekend. I completed it in two sessions, the first consisting of sketching the outlines and painting the basic details. After a few days allowing most of the oil paint to dry I went in there and added the remaining detail.

I did this in a sketch book, recreating a photograph taken at a trip to New York back in 2010. The actual location is on a sightseeing boat circling Manhattan island.

I titled it ‘Reflection’ to make it seem deep and meaningful, but in actual fact its the most straight forward and appropriate title as the reflection of my sunglasses is the focus of the painting.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

