Skip to content

My First Sketches

April 19, 2012

I decided to dabble with a bit of art. I had a great idea in mind to create something personalised for people I know, but firstly needed to warm up and get acquainted with some of the materials I wanted to use.

I decided upon oil paints, but I don’t recall ever using them, which may be a problem. I am in the process of reading tutorials and techniques by artists just to get a sense of what to expect. Straight away I learn that you need thinners i.e turpentine/linseed oil as part of the painting routine, and that oil paint can take forever to dry. Sounds more difficult than I expected, but I will give it a try.

I already purchased the paint and a bunch of artistic pencils, student grade but it should be sufficient for now. I plan to paint something simple and go from there. But for now I stuck to sketching from photographs.

First sketch is of Charmaine. I drew this by just looking at the photograph and trying to recreate it on paper. The proportions appear somewhat skewed, and I had a complaint from the subject that it makes her look bad, but I thought it was alright for my first real-life drawing.

The second sketch is of me from another photograph. I am eating a White castle®burger and appear to be enjoying it very much. The proportions are much more precise, this was because I adapted a technique of putting a grid on the photograph and then a similar grid (I made this grid 50% larger) onto the paper, that what I can make the contour and all the details in their corresponding place on paper. Obviously if you are drawing something from real life the technique won’t work, but for my purposes it is very helpful.

The shading was done with my fingers and occasional lighting with an eraser.

If I wish to paint I won’t have to draw so much detail of the subjects as the paint itself is what will give the shadows etc. I will post any other attempts later.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 5:24 pm

    lol! i love the complaint from the subject part 🙂 those sketches are good – keep at it!

  2. April 24, 2012 7:55 pm

    It’s actually not that bad for a first timer. You’re good! I believe you have the potential. Keep it up!!

  3. July 10, 2014 10:31 am

    Cool! 😀 I wanna see more!!
    P.s. I believe that any exaggerations or ‘distortions’ are reflections of the artist’s perspective of the subject.

Leave a Reply

