Skip to content

80’s Movies

January 16, 2012

Recently I re-watched an 80’s film that I haven’t seen for years, ‘The Burbs’. A comedy/horror/thriller all blended into a single cocktail of digital awesomeness. A great nostalgic film, with Tom Hanks in the leading role, about a cul-de-sac and the eccentric neighbors that occupy it. When new ghoulish looking neighbors move in next-door to Hanks and avoid contact with all the people on the street, wild ideas begin to bake in the minds of the locals, with the reclusive neighbors helping the hysterical dough rise with their bizarre nocturnal activities. Finally with the help of Hanks’ other neighbor whose wild cultic conspiracies, convince Hanks and their other post-Veitnam vet neighbor to take the matter into their own hands and figure out what is going on.

There is something about 80’s films that give them a unique style and feel. I am gentler with them when applying the regular mental critic. The cheesiness of the actors are more tolerated, the unbelievable plots can flicker passed my eyes relatively unscathed by my judging tongue. It could be simply that I am a product of the 80’s myself, and have some historic connection to that period. Yet my age would have made me too young to appreciate the 80’s in raw, so perhaps it does come down to mere cinematography of that era.

In any case I wanted to list some other memorable films that I have seen and enjoyed  from that same decade.

  • Crocodile Dundee (1986)
  • Stand by Me (1986)
  • The NeverEnding Story(1984)
  • Ghostbusters (1984)
  • Ghostbusters 2 (1989)
  • Honey I Shrunk the Kids (1989)
  • The Karate Kid (1984)
  • The Gods Must Be Crazy (1981)
  • Gremlins (1984)
  • Labyrinth (1986)
  • Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984)
  • Back to the Future (1985)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

