Skip to content

Condescending Thoughts

December 14, 2011

Recently I smirked over & mentally noted-down a comedic observation that a relative repeated to me about driver perception.

“Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?”

The short humorous line embodies within it a more serious element of human nature that also repeats itself in other aspects of life. It is the case of casting of condescending opinions upon other people’s actions that deviate from your own no matter how frivolous the subject matter is.

I find myself doing that at mandate things constantly, but I have trained to catch my thoughts before they veer too wildly into the scoffing cliff. “hmm, he bought another lunch this week, the man is a compulsive spender, leaking money like a sieve”. 

I noticed doing the following once, following from spending a good time with friends over the weekend, “Look at those boring drones on Facebook sitting-in at home, they have no life”, some time later when browsing an uneventful weekend afternoon, seeing party photos from a contact; “Those party animals, living for today without a care for tomorrow, would like to see how they retire!”.

In closing, I better get back to work to show these slackers around me how it’s done. 😀

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 5:34 pm

    Ha..ha.. A very interesting and amusing observation indeed. Well, life on Earth is steeped in duality. The us vs them scenario is played out daily in our lives. 🙂

  2. Alen permalink
    December 17, 2011 9:50 pm

    To our own minds, we can do no wrong. We can easily, and readily point out the flaws in others but very few of us are willing to look to our own selves with such detailed criticism. It requires a certain level of introspection.

    I am by no means perfect but when I realized that almost every person that I know has done something annoying, I realized that I can’t be an exception to the rule. Kinda humbling realizing that.

    • December 18, 2011 6:49 pm

      Very true. I hate when I did something and then reflecting back on it think to my self, man that was very douchey of me to do.

Leave a Reply

