Skip to content

Getaway

September 22, 2011

Today was the first day back to work for me – a two day work week is not bad. Most of my time off was for the getaway that my wife & I and another couple organised. The place was about only 1.5 hours drive fromSydney, we were even joking with a grain of seriousness that we can drive back every night and feed the dogs (they were boarding at my in-laws).

In all it was a great few days spent relaxing. I am becoming a big fan of these short trips away from work. This is our second such get-away and each one was worth the money.

There are a number of advantages of a short holiday over a big holiday

1)      For me at least, even a couple of days off work refreshes me and gives back most if not all my energy. Any time longer than that and the law of diminishing returns quickly kicks in.

2)      Easier to plan: Everyone has busy lives and prior commitments. It’s hell trying to find a time when everyone is free and available. I have to confess; right now I am one of the biggest culprits in making it difficult to find free time. Doing 8:30 to 5, five days a week and studying with the semester in full swing. The free-slots in my schedule are like solar eclipses – rare and short. Multiply that for the amount of people that are going and you can see how difficult that becomes.

3)      Easier to manage work: Finding time for yourself to take a break is not the only thing you have to worry about. You also have to confirm that work is happy with it. I guess that’s why some people say that they have two marriages; one to the spouse and one to their job. Taking a few days off as opposed to a whole month is much easier. You don’t have to compete with your co-workers who booked their holidays already 6 years in advance.

Big trips are only good for going overseas or at least far enough that you require a long plane trip.

All up it was a great break and will be on a look out for more in the future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

