Skip to content

Pompii – My First Video Edit

July 31, 2011

E.S. Posthumus is a music group that I really enjoy and who I find really talented. They produce cinematic style of music.

Some of their other work has been featured in following shows and films: Cold Case, Pirates of the Caribbean, The Matrix Reloaded & The Irony of Fate 2 etc

When I listen to some of their music, I am able to interpret the tone & character of the songs into different visual scenes. This particular track titled ‘ Pompii’ is especially intense and fast-paced through-out most of it. One obvious type of imagary I see is of an erupting volcano, especially zooming into the gurgling centre. The other type is the one I put together below.

Disclaimer: I am not celebrating the use of the atomic bomb and don’t see it as an admirable invention of man. However the videos of the explosions I thought were very interesting to watch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 9:38 pm

    I wonder how much the title would have affected one’s interpretation of the music itself? Interesting video by the way. It really leaves me in awe seeing the destructive power behind these weapons.

  2. August 4, 2011 8:50 am

    All their songs have titles after ancient places in the world. Majority of them I haven’t hear of. It just so happened that Pompeii was a song I liked and knew the name. I was working on another song of theirs, but will need time to improve on the editing and currently it looks really dodgy.

Leave a Reply

