Skip to content

7 Favourite Movies (Drama)

July 16, 2011

Originally I wanted to write about my favorite movies of all time, but the list is long and the different genres are so difficult to compare. I find that a big aspect of how one enjoys a movie depends on their mood at the time.  A well produced movie will transcend any mood, yet being aligned emotionally with the directors intentions for their movie adds extra appreciation and understanding of the elements within the film.
I thought it would be a good idea to add a memorable quote from each movie to convey a bit of the substance.

Now without further ado, I present Sasha’s’ 7 favorite Drama movies:

 

Forrest Gump (1994)

I watched this movie when I was in my early teens and found it highly enjoyable then. It was when I was older and more seasoned with knowledge of American iconic history that I got an even better appreciation of the film. It is something about Forrest’s naiveness and almost childlike innocence contrasted with the full and eventful life he experiences that makes this lead character so enthralling and the movie so interesting.

The most famous quote from the movie probably best summarizes the film.

Forrest Gump: My momma always said, “Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”

Fargo (1996)

Fargo is one of two films on my list that is a dark drama. The film is written and directed by the Coen brothers, which tend to make films that really stand out with their screen play and unforgettable characters, good example is ‘The Big Lebowski ‘. Fargo is no exception. It’s a about a man who has experienced financial problems and when he sees little option in resolving it, resorts to a ransom plot of his wife. Slowly his plot breaks apart beyond anything he envisioned.  As I said earlier a very dark and without a happy ending type of movie.

A quote from the film

Carl Showalter: What kind of trouble are you in, Jerry?
Jerry Lundegaard: Well, that’s, that’s, I’m not gonna go inta, inta – see, I just need money.

 

Amadeus (1984)

This movie is the oldest pick for my list. It is also one of the longest. At  160 minutes or (180 mins for directors cut) the movie does leave your posterior rather sore, but it’s worth it! The movie tells the story (with some artistic liberty) of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, a quirky musical genius who is the object of envy of Antonio Salieri – a royal composer. All Salieri ever wanted was for his music to please God, but he can’t understand why God favored Mozart, a profane and unworthy being, to be his instrument.

I class this movie as a favorite as it portrays raw human emotion so well. The way the struggle for Salieri to understand why one has everything going for them in life without little effort, while another must exert all their effort to just keep their head above water, is written and acted out so well. The apparent arbitrary or even capricious nature that people are dispensed with talents and abilities drives Salieri mad.

There is a great quote where Salieri mutters; “I will speak for you, Father. I speak for all mediocrities in the world. I am their champion. I am their patron saint.” I think It sums up nicely how many feel when they encounter others who are always better than them in some form.

However the movie is long due to some scenes of opera, which I feel takes up too much of the movie.

American Beauty (1999)

When thinking about the film it was difficult to translate my feelings for the film into the reasons why I liked it. A good summary and theme of the movie one reviewer describes is ‘social disillusionment phenomenon’. The movie is about a family that seems to have all the wealth and benefits of living in an urban America yet cannot find enjoyment from life. The film narrated by the lead character played by Kevin Spacey tells the audience how sometimes you just have to seek those things you always desired from life even at the expense of the veneer of a perfect family.

Once again the strength of the characters, the cinematography and the screen play make this movie so memorable.

Angela Hayes: Yeah? Well, at least I’m not ugly!
Ricky Fitts: Yes, you are. And you’re boring, and you’re totally ordinary, and you know it.

Requiem for a Dream (2000)

Requiem for a dream is one of the most depressing and dark films I have ever seen. Yet the unique way its shot and the struggles of the drug addicted characters makes it one of the most memorable. The movie leaves you with no hope, yet makes you thankful you didn’t have to experience the lives of the protagonists. The soundtrack for the film is worth the nomination in itself and deserves a mention.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSY4Yi2ypno

On my list as the movie that will drain you the most emotionally.

Here’s a quote:

Sara Goldfarb: [about her pills] Purple in the morning, blue in the afternoon, orange in the evening.
[to refrigerator]
Sara Goldfarb: There’s my three meals, Mr. Smartypants.
[back to pills]
Sara Goldfarb: And green at night. Just like that. One, two, three, four.

Titanic (1997)

The magnitude and the cost of the film puts it ahead of many others just by that reason alone. This has to be the longest film on the list. Over the years I found that some people love the film while others hate it. The hate may come from the over-hype that surrounded it, back at its release or it may also be due to its length. I fall into the other category, someone who saw the movie and thought that it will be a classic. The story is well known, so the strength lies in its characters and visuals. Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet do an excellent job at giving us a glimpse of how the lives of the people on that boat would have been like. The many unique personalities that that viewers encounter throughout the movie never tire the viewer and prevent the film from dragging.

The final scenes of the Titanic sinking and the anarchy that ensues  left a poignant feeling of being there with them and for a moment being able to taste the emotions the people would have experiences as they slowly watched the ocean engulf them.

Stand by me (1986)

Another favorite of mine, based on a Stephen King novel. Apart from the excellent performances of the kid-actors and a great storyline, the movie gives me a sense of missed childhood nostalgia. I know it sounds paradoxical, but I will attempt to explain. The strong friendship and adventure experienced by the lead characters at the age of 12-13, would be something I myself along with other people would want to have experienced in full. There were many scenes in the movie which I could relate to, and many others why I would have wanted to.

Overrall the movie doesn’t have special effects or a huge budget, but something about it ‘being-real’ in the sense of it could or may have happened to you when you were that age really makes this film stand-out.

Quote:

The Writer: [voiceover] I was 12 going on 13 the first time I saw a dead human being. It happened in the summer of 1959-a long time ago, but only if you measure in terms of years. I was living in a small town in Oregon called Castle Rock. There were only twelve hundred and eighty-one people. But to me, it was the whole world.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 12:56 pm

    “Stand By Me” is one of my personal favourites as well. Love that film!

  2. July 18, 2011 6:25 am

    Yep its a great film.

Trackbacks

  1. Nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award – Choice. « Hippopaloola

Leave a Reply

