Skip to content

First post and about myself

June 12, 2011

Hello any readers who thought that it would be of interest to them to come and read my personal blog. I took the idea of a blog from various friends and high profile people I either know or read. The use of this blog will be to post anything I find of value, any ideas, thoughts and interesting information I may come by.

My first post will be about myself. There is a section on the profile page that asks the author of the blog to reveal something of interest to his/her readers. I decided to convey something about myself in my first post in a form of a Proust Questionnaire. The questionnaire and its history can be found here, but simply put the questionnaires name derives from a French writer Marcel Proust who was one of the first people to give answers to this form of personality assessment. I may choose to delete any questions I do not find of interest.

Let us begin:

Your favorite virtue? confidence in self and thirst for knowledge

Your favorite qualities in a woman? Loving, caring, sense-of-humor, long-term goal oriented

Your favorite qualities in a man? Ambitious, humorous , courageous

Your chief characteristic? Curiosity of the world

What you appreciate the most in your friends? Mutual understanding, honesty, humor, willingness to assist when help is needed

Your main fault? Lack of confidence in self

Your favorite occupation? Fulfilling your passions and hobbies. Being financially free and not having to work.

Your idea of happiness? Loving family, good friends, stimulating conversations

Your idea of misery? Bound to place, person, event or institution and not having options to escape

Your heroes in real life? Socrates, Obama, Alexander the Great, Hannibal, Gaius Marius

If not yourself, who would you be? (See heroes in real life)

Where would you like to live? Cairns, for its warm climate and the laid-back lifestyle

Your favorite colour and flower? Red and black, roses

Your favorite heroes in fiction?  Heracles, Simba

Your favorite painters? Salvador Dali, M. C. Escher, Monet

Your favorite musician? R Kelly, Mariah Carey, E.P. Posthumous, Pearl Jam, Mozart, Tchaikovsky

Your favorite names? Greek and Latin names fascinate me the most. The meaning of the name adds depth. ‘Lucian’ pronounces Loo-cee-an seems to stand out for me. For girls ‘Athena’

What I hate the most? Unnecessary animal suffering, compulsive liars and heart-ache

The military event I admire the most? WW2 – Ostfront (Eastern-front). People of both sides were losers in the struggle between the two dictators. The personal tragedy and accounts of people fighting in this war gave me for the first time a small poignant sense of what it would be like to be out in the firing line. My Russian background also made the events more vivid.

The natural talent I’d like to be gifted with? Savant intelligence, charisma, master an instrument

How I wish to die? Peacefully, with a feeling of accomplishment

What is your present state of mind? Concentration

For what fault have you most toleration? Physical faults

Your favorite motto? Don’t think I have one

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Inna Goubina permalink
    June 27, 2011 3:37 pm

    Sash, I am proud I have a son like you! I am truly blessed! Love you, my boy.

    Mum

  2. June 27, 2011 7:57 pm

    I’m going to steal this questionnaire for when I start my own website/blog (coming soon)

    Till then I’ll follow yours Sashi

  3. July 8, 2011 4:16 pm

    Now I’ve found your blog, so expect a mutual follow 🙂

  4. April 10, 2013 1:53 pm

    Hi i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this post i thought i could also make comment due to this good
    article.

Leave a Reply

